Food

Beef Stew With Herb Dumplings

*I had meant to write this post yesterday, but I was so stuffed after making dinner, I could barely walk.*

My Quarter Wife is not a fan of sadza, it’s just not her thing, so I promised her I’d get her a nice winter recipe that does not have sadza and nhingi. I have found a winner! And oh my gosh, what a winner! This recipe makes you think that they created it so you can build up a few fat layers for winter. Yum yum yum!!

I got this from the Knorr What’s For Dinner website, and made a few modifications of my own:

I made my dumplings plain (I couldn’t find the Mixed Herbs, I honestly was too lazy to look beyond the supermarkets at Avondale and Mabelreign).

I got lucky and found the Tasty Brown Onion soup packet with Mixed Herbs at OK Mabelreign.

 

20170626_095150
This brought out great flavour!

I don’t like people adding salt to their food, so I added a few pinches of salt to my taste.

Here’s the original recipe:

Ingredients

  1. 45ml sunflower oil
  2. 1 onion, sliced
  3. 1kg stewing beef, cubed
  4. 4 tomatoes, peeled and diced
  5. 10ml Robertsons Paprika
  6. 5ml Robertsons Mixed Herbs
  7. 625ml water
  8. 30ml KNORR Brown Onion Soup
  9. 250ml self-raising flour
  10. 50g margarine
  11. 5ml Robertsons Mixed Herbs
  12. water

Method

  1. Heat oil in a pan and fry beef until well browned.
  2. Add onions and fry until soft.
  3. Add tomatoes, Robertsons Paprika and Robertsons Mixed Herbs, and cook for 5 minutes.
  4. Add the water and allow to simmer for 60 minutes.
  5. Dumplings: Rub margarine into self-raising flour until it resembles bread crumbs and then add Robertsons Mixed Herbs and enough water to form a stiff dough.
  6. Divide dough into 8 dumplings, drop dumplings into stew about 30 minutes before end of cooking time. Cover and simmer until fluffy and cooked
  7. Mix the KNORR Brown Onion Soup with a little water to form a smooth paste and stir into the stew then allow to simmer until thickened.

Enjoy! It really is delicious, and guarantees that you’ll be in your blankets quickly!

Until next time… Your Quarter Wife.

Leave a Reply

